Which might sound strange, because I am still fannish about some shows. This post pretty much sums up how I feel about current fannish trends, aka - rolling around in spoilers and speculations and red herrings and becoming UNBELIEVABLY ANGRY about things and then spending the season bitching about how those spoilers and speculations and red herrings weren't accurate. (Oh, you don't say?)

I have not one single fannish Tumblr on my feed now. No one can be trusted (aside from my Miss Muse), I have painfully found out. I took K_B off my feed last night because someone put in their g.d. author's notes to a fic post "now that we all need a little..." blah blah - which means that they are hinting about a spoiler/speculation/red herring and now I AM INFECTED WITH IT. :(

Everyone can have the fannish experience they want. Which seems to be that they want to be angry and hate a show they continue to watch (oh my god, don't even get me started on the BZUH?-ness of that). So why can't I have the fannish experience I want? Which is to watch the show when it airs, and then talk - BEHIND A CUT - about what I liked, etc? Because people are selfish, that's why. I'm sorry if that makes you angry with me. (People who don't care about my wishes and wants make ME angry.) As [livejournal.com profile] flaming_muse said: spoilers should be OPT IN, not OPT OUT.

I've had four different fics on my hard drive that I've essentially deleted. I can't even consider moving forward with any of them, because my joy in the show and sharing it are pretty much gone - not to mention the whole "feeling paralyzed about writing the future with hints of what's to come having been carelessly posted."

I'm just tired of selfish behavior. It's like the majority of the people on the internet exhibit ADD behavior: complete lack of impulse control and thinking things through, or having empathy for others. /killjoy.

There are a handful of people that I enjoy in this fandom, and I'll continue to read them (and I'm talking, like six people), but man - the rest of the fandom has pretty much killed it for me. I've been in one fandom or another since I was, hmm. 11? I'm 40. I've never had such a negative experience. I say this not to be a whiner, but to stress how UNUSUAL this behavior is. This is not how fandoms typically behave, n00bs. As I tell my kids and their friends: Manners are free, so there's no excuse for you to not have any.

Not that it's a hardship to other fan-types in Glee that I'm not really wanting to play ball anymore, I'm not trying to prop myself up in importance (because let's face it - I'm not.) I'm just expressing myself in my personal fannish space.

ION, I bought my son skinny jeans and they bag on him. O_O The child eats almost $200 in groceries A WEEK. If I could bottle his metabolism...

[ETA]: Just to clear the record: I'm not trying to be all sniffy/flouncing. I'm expressing my frustration, is all. (And it should go without saying that there should be NO MENTIONS OF SPOILERS OF ANY KIND in comments here. Or speculation. Or red herrings. Or mention of Brussels sprouts. Because those are gross and make you fart.)
Title: A Love I Can Be Sure Of (part of WTS verse)
Rating: NC-17
Spoilers: Not a one.
Word Count: 7200
Warnings: Shower sex? Pruney fingers? NASA jokes? Happy people enjoying each other's bodies?
Summary: You didn't think I'd let the other one-shot be the christening of the new fire station, did you? Pure lovin' under the cut.
A/N: You're welcome for not titling this with any number of cheesy Fireman Puns: It's take a big hose to put out that fire, Firemen Are Hot, etc. Also, THANK YOU to [livejournal.com profile] flaming_muse for initially saying that I should follow through on this whole idea and reading and guiding me along the way. And seriously: spend money on shoes and lube. Two places you should never skimp. Title is from Carole King's gorgeous song, "Tonight You're Mine (Completely)" because it makes me happy.

Picks up immediately after THIS, and is a part of the Where There's Smoke 'verse.

They decided to not call anyone that night, to have their engagement remain as something precious and just between them, if only for a few more hours. )

STOP.

Nov. 17th, 2011 07:12 pm
Stop what you are doing. Read this story that was written two months ago and has a shameful lack of comments. There were 5. FIVE when I read it just now.

It is gorgeous, it is painful, it is about Santana [GLEE] trying to come to terms with being gay and being in her family and needing to be what is expected of her and oh, the ending. OH, HER ABUELO!

UM, YOU KINDA DON'T NEED TO BE IN GLEE TO GET THIS. It probably rings crazy true for a lot of you, I'm just saying. (And all the hugs, btw. All of them.)

Really. In a fandom that is filled with (I'm sorry, but it's true) a lot of poorly written fic, poorly characterized protagonists, and things done just for the sake of the hit count, this is the kind of thing that should be read.

"Brittany makes her happy. Brittany fills the holes that Santana has managed to gouge in herself, or that other people have gouged in her. Brittany curls around her and is like oxygen, so fucking necessary to keep breathing, and it’s completely separate from the fact that Brittany is legitimately beautiful. She’s beautiful on the inside, and Santana can’t even bring herself to temper that with anything sarcastic. She just is. It’s like she’s scrubbed clean internally, like her soul is totally untouched and unmarred by everything that sucks about the world, and loving her makes Santana feel better about – everything."

And this isn't even the point, it's just a snippet to show you why you need to read it.

Five comments for this? FIVE? *whip crack* You want to read good stuff? Encourage the writers that can give it to you.
I'm pretty opinionated. (NO! You don't say!) There are some things where I will brook no argument, without question. But the controversy on last night's Glee is not one of them. I definitely felt that I got what the writers were TRYING to say and failed to do so, but the more discussion I have with the amazingly smart and thoughtful comments in this post, the more I'm realizing that I was totally thinking from a place of privilege.

And being reminded of that is always a good thing. The nicest, most positive ass-handing ever, guys. (Meaning, my ass. Handed to me.) I really love and appreciate every single comment that comes in at HDJM. We have good discussions, y'all.

Ultimately I think it boils down to the writers not fully thinking things through. BUT. The beautiful thing is the conversation coming out of this topic. (PLEASE, NO SPOILERS HERE, SOME PEOPLE HAVEN'T WATCHED YET.) As we move into a more open and tolerant society, this sort of thing is likely to happen - this might open the eyes for a lot of people, not just me.

And now I go to wash everything my Emily has come home with, as there was a cabin with bed bugs, and I am thoroughly skeeved. OH MY GOD.
First. I've watched this grow from email flailings (mostly mine, ha) to something so gorgeous and perfect and sweet and...it's AFTERGLOW. In fic form. Together, by (who else) [livejournal.com profile] flaming_muse. It's not porny, because...that would feel intrusive. I know everyone is looking for the dirty dirty since the episode aired, and that feels so wrong to me. Because...it was about love, you know? <--DORK. Whatever.

Look, I've been listening to overwrought French rap about passion and longing for an hour now, so come on, give me a break.

I was just... maudlin yesterday, bursting into tears at the drop of a - oh, wait, was another hat dropped? *crey* There's something connected to "first times" with me, and I think I figured it out (as in figured out my trauma, because I'm apparently slow) that it's about where the future takes you. Maybe it's not the same for dudes, but good lord was that the case for me. I was pressured into my first sexual experience, causing me to spiral into what I call my Mormon Rumspringa (lol) And this was the time that led to me giving up on one of my biggest dreams ever. And it [that long-ago dream] is just not going to happen in my life, because hello, passage of time and life, etc.

And my first wasn't great. At all. And that let to other aspects of myself forced to change into something I didn't set out to be, if that makes sense. So. When I read/watch something where those moments are as they should be, as it was imagined to be and then IS, I just kind of have all of these emotions build of of "what if" and the like. But then I let go of that and remember that my second time was absolutely beautiful. :)

But this story I'm linking you? That's how it's supposed to be after. 100% <3
Glee. God damn you, Glee, THIS IS THE SHOW YOU SHOULD ALWAYS BE. Guys? Season 3, Episode 5, maybe the greatest episode in their entire history. Not just because of how I feel about Kurt and Blaine. The EDITING. The DIRECTING. The music, oh my god Blaine dancing randomly to Roxy Music - the is my JAM. (lol)

First, I was up until past midnight, I couldn't turn the brain off after writing the GLEE RECAP AND COCKTAIL RECIPE (pink pucker, I'm sorry, I come up with names based on titles and make them a week early, otherwise I'd never sleep EVER and my hands cramped up yesterday because I have written over 40,000 THIS WEEK, that is not hyperbole) so please give my life meaning and read it. And share my squee. And laughter. And tears. But not this breakfast burrito because I'm really hungry, okay?

UM. A WARNING TO A FEW AFTER I SKIMMED LJ/TUMBLR/TWITTER LAST NIGHT. SPOILER FOR 3x05!! How did you see that?! How did you miss the point?! Also, gorgeous picture of the two of them under the cut. YES, THEM. I don't even need to tell you who, right? )

Holy crap. I just need a Slanket made of Darren Criss, is that too much to ask for? Let's hash things out at the recap. Help me. HELP ME DEAL WITH THESE FEELINGS, omg.
FIRST: WALKING DEAD RECAP starring the coolest redneck ever, The Supernatural recap (The Mentalist) and the latest The Vampire Diaries are all waiting for your juicy, delicious thoughts.

SECOND: I'm thuper exthited, you guyth. Do you know how hard it is to find someone that can mimic the 60s-mod/Bewitched style we've got going on our site? Pretty damn hard. Do you know how hard it is to do proper caricatures of people that look like the people? REALLY hard. So I'm stoked by what I ended up with.

Who are my Breaking Bad peeps out there? Check out this awesome Walt design - you should buy a shirt or mug with this image on it. That would be cool of you. )

Oh, hey Glee folks, how about some awesome Klaine? Because we're calling it Blurt there so you know, we don't get in trouble. But I think it's SO CUTE. You also should buy loads of things. )

And all proceeds go to starving writers everywhere. Everywhere = only to the people working at HDJM, that is. Hosting a website, paying artists and writers, it doesn't come cheap. Why are you making these poor girls suffer? Buy a mug. Buy a shirt. Hanukkah's/Christmas/Kwanza/Sacrifice Day is just around the corner, and here are some awesome fan-based items waiting for you. There is also True Blood merch! )

ADDED MERCH + Your Thoughts wanted: I've added Kindle sleeves, bumper stickers, a travel mug, and laptop skins! If we can sell some of this without it being overwhelming, I'm curious as to what YOU'D like to see added. I'm all ears.

Now I need to eat, exercise, and not nibble on the cake I made last night (for my mother in law's birthday. And she brought a cake. Even though I spent a week finding out from her what kind of cake she'd like for me to make her. LOL.)
A fic rec, by (of course, for she's my go-to for Glee fic) [livejournal.com profile] flaming_muse.

While You Were Busy Making Other Plans, an episode tag fic (FitB) from Pot O'Gold (this week's episode) wherein Kurt begins to realize this is his senior year. And once he graduates, everything changes. ...everything? Seriously, she writes the characters better than the show does on occasion. Hudson-Hummels, dinner time, boys being boys, and some kissing.

I'm making firemen make out currently. It's a good afternoon, is what I'm saying.
Title The Ghost of You Still Lingers
Fandom Glee
Pairing Kurt, with mentions of all Hudson-Hudmel family and Blaine
Spoilers Up through 3.2
Summary How Kurt remembers his mother, or seven vignettes centered around a hand-me down vanity table.
Word Count 5565
Disclaimer The only profit made from writing Glee fanfic is to my soul. AKA: no money comes to me, etc. etc. I own nothing but my life decisions. And not even those, most of the time.
A/N I would like to give a pony-corn cake to [livejournal.com profile] flaming_muse for being an outstanding beta, she beats things with baseball bats and then shows you how to set the bones and kiss the boo boos, as all good editors should. (And remaining errors are all on me.) Also, um, I am a cry baby about boys and their mothers, so maybe this is a tissue warning?

Kurt doesn't think of her as often now as he had right after she had died. It's been half his life that she's been gone, after all.  )
So this happened during our comment fest last night.

Author: Stoney
Fandom: GLEE
Rating: PG
Summary: You know the chorus that sings during the show? They can hear that. At McKinley. (Short fic)
Disclaimer: This is fanfiction, no money, no ownership by me, yadda yadda.
A/N: This is a TOE DIP. It's been 2 years since I wrote fanfiction, omg.

The Bumper Music )

June 2017

S M T W T F S
    123
4 5678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 27282930 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios